We Are Friends of Gold


Sickly Sweet
May 9, 2011, 11:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today, I brought my engagement ring to a jeweler friend to have it sized.

Two very cool things happened: one, she had some really great ideas about ways to either reset the stone, which had originally been the fiance’s mother’s, so that it could go seamlessly with a wedding band of my choosing; and two, she saw the worse-for-wear ring I had brought along as a replacement until I get THE properly fitting ring back, and decided to do something about its sorry state. Turns out, what I thought was costume jewelry (having been passed down to me from my step-grandfather’s mother’s jewelry box stuffed full), was actually just very dirty 14k and aquamarine. I literally thought it was brass with maybe a clear plastic stone, faceted glass if I was lucky. All it took was a toothbrush, some water and a little soap, and it’s like a brand new ring! Ladies, she says – clean your jewelry!

I thought it was especially funny, given the task at hand, that on my subway ride down to her studio, I came across more gross PDA than I’ve seen in a long while. Teenagers leaning against polls giving each other hickeys, incessant kissing in the midst of tightly packed crowds, and the exchange of a single rose.

Love is in the air.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

